11 Mar 2024

Lok Sabha Elections-2024: Why tickets of popular figures Nusrat Jahan and Mimi Chakraborty were cut in W Bengal?

On Sunday, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) unveiled its candidate roster for all 42 seats for Lok Sabha Elections-2024 in West Bengal, cancelling tickets of seven incumbent MPs. Notably absent from the list were actresses Nusrat Jahan and Mimi Chakraborty, both celebrated figures in West Bengal politics.

Sources within the TMC, speaking anonymously, revealed that internal party strife escalated during Mimi Chakraborty's tenure as the MP from Jadavpur parliamentary constituency. Following this, Mimi tendered her resignation to Mamata Banerjee, expressing her reluctance to contest the upcoming elections. Consequently, the Jadavpur ticket was handed to another actress, Sayani Ghosh.

Addressing the development, Sayani Ghosh, a Jadavpur resident, acknowledged Mimi's past contributions and assured voters of positive changes in the future. Meanwhile, the Sandeshkhali region, part of the Basirhat Lok Sabha constituency, became a contentious point for Nusrat Jahan. Instead of engaging with the local community, she focused on social media, causing dissatisfaction among constituents.

TMC replaced Nusrat Jahan with Haji Nurul Islam

In light of this, the TMC replaced Nusrat Jahan with Haji Nurul Islam. The party maintained Shatrughan Sinha as its candidate for Asansol and nominated former cricketer Kirti Azad for the Burdwan-Durgapur seat.

Expressing gratitude for the opportunity, Kirti Azad pledged to serve the people and criticized the BJP for misleading voters with false promises. The TMC also fielded cricketer Yusuf Pathan in the Muslim-dominated Baharampur seat, challenging the traditional stronghold of State Congress President Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary.

Mahua Moitra has been given ticket again from her old seat Krishnanagar. It is clear from this list that the matter of seat distribution between the opposition India alliance in the state has also become sour.

No comments:

Post a Comment