7 May 2024

MP Lok Sabha elections-2024: Fate of Raja, Maharaja and Mama To Be Sealed Today

Voting for the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections-2024 in Madhya Pradesh is being held on May 7th. This phase encompasses elections on 93 seats across the country. However, in Madhya Pradesh, voting will take place on 9 crucial seats that have great significance for both Congress and BJP. 

These include the seats of Vidisha, Rajgarh, Guna, Morena, Sagar, Gwalior, Bhind, Bhopal, and Betul. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP secured victories on all these seats. All 9 seats in the third phase are considered hot seats, with the prestige of several stalwarts at stake.

The nation's attention is particularly focused on three seats: Rajgarh, Vidisha, and Guna. Former Chief Ministers Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Digvijaya Singh, along with Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, are contesting from these constituencies.

Crucial battlegrounds

With two former Chief Ministers and one Union Minister in the electoral fray, these seats are crucial battlegrounds. Moreover, these leaders are known by various nicknames across the state and the country. Shivraj Singh Chouhan, contesting from Vidisha, is known as "Mama," while Jyotiraditya Scindia, contesting from Guna, is known as "Maharaj." Digvijaya Singh, contesting from Rajgarh, is referred to as "Raja Sahab." They are all fighting elections from their respective strongholds. It remains to be seen how the competition unfolds.

Vidisha seat a stronghold of BJP

The Vidisha Lok Sabha seat of Madhya Pradesh is considered one of the hottest seats, primarily because former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is contesting for the sixth time from this constituency. This seat has always been considered a stronghold of the BJP. It is believed that the competition for this seat is not just about winning but also about the margin of victory. Shivraj Singh Chouhan is contesting against former MP Pratap Bhanu Sharma. Bhanu Sharma was elected as the last Congress MP from Vidisha in 1991, and since then, the BJP has dominated this seat.

Scindia faced defeat in Guna in 2019

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Jyotiraditya Scindia faced defeat on his traditional seat, Guna. He was defeated here by his former close aide, KP Yadav. Subsequently, in 2020, Scindia joined the Bharatiya Janata Party. This time, he is contesting on the BJP ticket. The Scindia family is considered to have great influence over this seat. This time, his opponent is Congress's Rao Yadavendra Singh. The BJP has put its full force behind Scindia to secure victory. Now, it remains to be seen whether Scindia can reclaim his lost fortress or not.

No comments:

Post a Comment