10 Jul 2024

Gautam Gambhir to be next head coach of Team India, what BCCI secretary Jay Shah said?

BCCI secretary Jay Shah announced on the social media platform X that former cricketer Gautam Gambhir is set to become the next head coach of the Indian cricket team.

In his post, Shah expressed, "I am delighted to introduce Gautam Gambhir as the head coach of the Indian cricket team. The landscape of modern cricket is evolving rapidly, and Gautam has closely observed these changes."

"Having navigated challenges throughout his career and excelled in various roles, I am confident that Gautam is the ideal candidate to lead Indian cricket into the future."

"His clear vision and extensive experience with Team India make him well-equipped to embrace this exciting coaching position. The Board of Control for Cricket in India extends its full support for this new journey."

Gautam Gambhir's potential appointment as head coach had been a topic of discussion in recent days.

Gambhir joined BJP in 2019 

Gambhir, who joined the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2019 and served as an MP from East Delhi, had close ties to influential figures in the government and BCCI. Despite his political involvement, he eventually stepped away from politics.

During the Forbes Leadership Event, Gambhir mentioned, "I ventured into politics as well. One thing I can affirm is that I never gave up. I tried to contribute as much as possible with good intentions and utmost sincerity. However, at times, you have to prioritize what truly resonates with your heart... and my heart lies with cricket, leading me back to the sport."

Expressing his aspirations at an event in Abu Dhabi in early June, he stated, "I aspire to coach the Indian team. There is no greater privilege than coaching your national team. You represent 1.4 billion Indians, including those living abroad."

The incoming coach of the Indian cricket team will have the opportunity to serve for three consecutive years, a tenure that even the most successful coaches in Indian cricket history, such as John Wright, Gary Kirsten, Ravi Shastri, and Rahul Dravid, did not experience.

No comments:

Post a Comment