13 Dec 2019

President Approval In Citizenship Amendment Bill Granted

President Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday gave his approval to the Citizenship Bill 2019, after which it has become a law.  

According to this law, members of Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian communities who have come to India from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan till 31 December 2014 and have suffered religious persecution in these countries will not be considered as illegal migrants rather Indian citizenship will be given.

The Citizenship Bill was passed by the Rajya Sabha on Wednesday and the Lok Sabha on Monday.  

According to the law, refugees from these six communities will be given citizenship of India after staying in India for five years.  Till now this deadline was 11 years old.  

According to the law, such refugees will be given pardon from lawsuits if they are found as non-law migrants.  As per the law, it will not be applicable to the tribal areas of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura, as these areas are included in the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution.

No comments:

Post a comment