9 Oct 2023

Election dates announced in five states, voting in Madhya Pradesh on November 17, voting in two phases in Chhattisgarh, voting in Rajasthan on November 23, when will counting of votes take place?

Bhopal: The Election Commission has announced that the elections for the legislative assemblies of Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Telangana will be held on various dates starting from November 7, with the votes set to be counted on December 3. Voting for all 230 seats of Madhya Pradesh will take place on 17 November. 

Voting for all 40 assembly seats in Mizoram will take place on November 7, along with the first phase of voting for 20 seats in Chhattisgarh.

The remaining 70 seats in Chhattisgarh will go to polls on November 17 alongside all 230 seats in Madhya Pradesh.

Voting is scheduled for all 200 assembly seats in Rajasthan on November 23, with the 119-member Telangana assembly being the final one to conduct elections on November 30.

Counting on Dec 3

At the press conference, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar announced that the vote counting for all five states is scheduled for December 3. Approximately 16 crore eligible voters will have the opportunity to cast their votes. Currently, the Congress party holds power in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, while the Bharatiya Janata Party governs Madhya Pradesh, the Bharat Rashtra Samithi is in control of Telangana, and Mizoram is led by the Mizo National Front.

Assembly elections are to be held in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Mizoram this year. These elections are being considered as the semi-finals of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The Election Commission has announced the dates for the assembly elections to be held in five states. 

60 lakh new voters in five states

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said that there are about 60 lakh new voters in five states, who will vote for the first time. In these states the number of male voters is 8.2 crore and the number of female voters is 7.8 crore. He has appealed to all the voters that they can make corrections in case of any error in the voter list from October 17 to November 30.  

Over 5 crore 60 lakh 60 thousand voters in MP

There are about 64 thousand 523 voter centers in MP.  In the state, about 5 crore 60 lakh 60 thousand 925 voters will exercise their franchise in the 2023 assembly elections. In this, there are 2 crore 88 lakh 25 thousand 625 male voters while there are 2 crore 72 lakh 33 thousand 945 female voters.

There are 6 lakh 53 thousand 640 senior voters in Madhya Pradesh. Whereas the number of disabled voters is 5 lakh 5 thousand 146. Those voters with more than 40 percent disability will be given the facility to vote from home.

Tenure of assembly of 5 states

The tenure of Mizoram Assembly expires on 17 December 2023

The tenure of MP Assembly will end on 6 January 2024

The tenure of Chhattisgarh Assembly will end on January 3, 2024

Rajasthan's tenure will end on January 14, 2024

The tenure of the Telangana Assembly will end on January 16, 2024

Political activities intensified in five states

Now political activities have intensified in the five election states. In Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh, some other political parties including BJP have also announced the names of many of their candidates. There is a BJP government led by Shivraj in Madhya Pradesh, while there is a Congress government led by Bhupesh Baghel in Chhattisgarh. In Rajasthan, here too Congress is in power and CM Ashok Gehlot is running the government. On the other hand, K Chandrashekhar Rao's government is in Telangana.

No comments:

Post a Comment