3 Mar 2024

Lok Sabha Elections-2024: Unexpected Departure: Why Two BJP MPs Gautam Gambhir and Jayant Sinha Opted Out of Re-election

Lok Sabha Elections-2024: In the realm of Indian politics, where the pursuit of party tickets is fiercely competitive, the decision of sitting MPs to voluntarily step back from seeking re-election is a rarity. The recent simultaneous announcements by two BJP MPs expressing their desire to be relieved from political duties has caught many off guard.

Sources reveal that the BJP's meticulous election machinery, known for its extensive surveys and thorough deliberations on every Lok Sabha seat, had already concluded that Gautam Gambhir and Jayant Sinha would not be fielded again.

While the party has yet to announce a candidate for East Delhi, Gautam Gambhir's constituency, in its initial candidate list, Jayant Sinha has not been named as the candidate for Hazaribagh in Jharkhand.

Gautam Gambhir, a first-time MP, posted on X around 10 am, stating, "I have requested Hon'ble Party President @JPNadda ji to relieve me of my political duties so that I can focus on my upcoming cricket commitments." 

Jayant Sinha expressed his desire to focus on combating climate change

Similarly, Jayant Sinha, less than five hours later, made a nearly identical post, expressing his desire to focus on combating global climate change. Both leaders extended their gratitude to the party's leadership, including PM Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah, for the opportunities provided.

Both MPs faced limited popularity in their constituencies

Insiders suggest that both MPs faced limited popularity in their constituencies, prompting the BJP, aiming for an ambitious target of 370 seats, to opt for new candidates. The decision was the result of a comprehensive process involving constituency feedback, internal evaluations, and reports from survey agencies. These inputs were then discussed by both state and national leadership.

Sources indicate that the national leadership has communicated a clear stance that MPs falling short of performance expectations will not be fielded again, with approximately 60 incumbents possibly facing this outcome. 

A five-hour meeting held on Thursday night in New Delhi, chaired by Prime Minister Modi and attended by Amit Shah and JP Nadda, emphasized constituencies where the party hadn't performed well. The objective is to announce candidate names ahead of poll dates to allow sufficient time for effective voter outreach.

No comments:

Post a Comment